Pixar’s Lightyear film same-sex kiss sees it banned in 14 countries

As reported by The Independent, Disney has reportedly been unable to secure the release of Lightyear in 14 Middle Eastern and Asian countries.

This includes the likes of Saudi Arabia, Malaysia, the United Arab Emirates, Lebanon, Kuwait, Egypt and Indonesia.

Additionally, it is unlikely that the film will release in China, according to the South China Morning Post.

A producer for Lightyear reportedly told the publication that she assumed the film wouldn’t open in China after Disney declined to make the cuts authorities had asked for.

The United Arab Emirates banned the film on Monday (June 13) “due to its violation of the country’s media standards”.

Like some other Middle Eastern countries, the UAE criminalises same-sex relationships. 

The same-sex kiss in question is reportedly only a brief moment between Hawthorne, the character voiced by actress Uzo Aduba, and the woman she is in a relationship with.

Chris Evans, who voices Buzz Lightyear in the film, said at the London premiere that he found the objections to the same-sex kiss were “frustrating”.

He added: “It’s great that we are a part of something that’s making steps forward in the social inclusion capacity, but it’s frustrating that there are still places that aren’t where they should be.”

Lightyear releases in cinemas on Thursday (June 16).

Dudley News | What’s On